SUNY Canton Early Childhood Professor Receives Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

Maureen Maiocco and President HoffmanA SUNY Canton professor is being honored for her dedication to her school, her students and the College.

Dr. Maureen P. Maiocco is the recipient of the 2014 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. She was recognized at the College’s 106th Commencement Ceremony May 10.

As the Early Childhood Program Director, she employs her extensive experience as a successful educator to provide the highest quality education to her students.

“Her dynamic personality and devotion to the school combine to make an incredible package,” said William J. Fassinger, Ph.D., Professor of Criminal Justice. “The techniques she uses to teach, motivate students and lead are unmatched.”

Dr. Maiocco is a well-respected leader in the early childhood profession throughout the country and abroad. She conducted a summer institute for visiting Chinese scholars in 2009 and was invited as guest lecturer by Xi’an University in China in 2010.

As a vibrant member of the SUNY Canton campus community, she was also chosen to receive College’s prestigious 2011 Distinguished Faculty Award and was selected to serve as interim dean of the School of Business and Liberal Arts.

Dr. Maiocco earned her Bachelor of Arts in Education from Curry College, her Master of Science in Teacher Leadership from Wheelock College, and her Ed.D. in Child and Youth Studies with a specialization in Curriculum Development from Nova Southeastern University.


About SUNY Canton

SUNY Canton is Northern New York’s premier College for career-driven bachelor’s degrees, associate degrees and certificate programs. The College delivers quality hands-on programs in engineering technology, health, management, and public service to students in the North Country, New York State, and beyond. Faculty members are noted for their professional real-world experience in addition to their academic credentials. SUNY Canton OnLine offers hundreds of flexible and convenient courses as well as eight exclusively online bachelor’s degrees. The College’s 14 athletic teams compete in state-of-the-art facilities as provisional members of the NCAA Division III and the USCAA.

Tags: ,