SUNY Canton Calls for Distinguished Citizen Nominations

SUNY Canton is seeking nominations for the highly-revered Distinguished Citizen Award.

The award is decided upon by the College Council at their March 2008 meeting. The award will be presented to the deserving recipient (or recipients) at the college’s 100th commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 17, 2008.

The college gives this prestigious award in recognition of exceptional and distinguished service to the College, to the community, to the State, or to the nation. Past recipients include: philanthropists Allan P. and Catherine B. Newell; Edward S. Mucenski of Pinto, Mucenski and Watson P.C. in Potsdam; President Emeritus Earl W. MacArthur; and former state assemblywoman Chloe Ann O’Neil. Every recipient’s name is proudly displayed on a plaque in the Richard W. Miller Campus Center.

Written nominations must be submitted no later than February 1, 2008. Minimally, the nominations should include the name, position or title, a description, and a brief biography of the nominee. At least three letters of support from non-family members should accompany the nomination. Please submit all nominations to Wesley L. Stitt, College Council Chairman, SUNY Canton, 34 Cornell Drive, Canton, NY 13617.

For more information, contact Stacey L. Basford, Assistant to the President, at (315) 386-7204 or email